Discover the Diocese of Tucson

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Tucson (LatinDioecesis Tucsonensis) is an ecclesiastical territory or diocese of the Roman Catholic Church in the southwestern region of the United States. It comprises nine counties of the state of Arizona, making it the fifth largest diocese in the continental United States in terms of area. The counties are Gila,GrahamGreenleePinal (excluding the territorial boundaries of the Gila River Indian Reservation), CochiseSanta CruzPimaYuma, and La Paz. The See city for the diocese isTucson, Arizona. It is a suffragan see of the Archdiocese of Santa Fe. The cathedral parish for this diocese is the St. Augustine. The diocese is currently led by its seventh bishop, Most Reverend Gerald Frederick Kicanas.


The See of Tucson was established by Pope Pius IX as the Apostolic Vicariate of Arizona in 1868, taking its territory from the former Diocese of Santa Fe. The See of Tucson was canonically erected by Pope Leo XIII as a diocese on May 8, 1897.

The Diocese of Tucson filed bankruptcy in September, 2004. The Diocese of Tucson reached an agreement with the victims of sex abuse, which the bankruptcy judge approved on June 11, 2005, specifying terms that included allowing the diocese reorganization to continue in return for a $22.2 million settlement.


High schools




Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.