Discover the Eparchy of Van Nuys (Byzantine)

The Holy Protection of Mary Byzantine Catholic Eparchy of Phoenix (formerly known as the Byzantine Catholic Eparchy of Van Nuys) (LatinEparchia Vannaisensis) is the Catholic eparchy (diocese) governing most Byzantine Ruthenian Catholics in the westernUnited States. Its headquarters are at 8105 North 16th Street, Phoenix, Arizona. The currentbishop is the Most Reverend Gerald Nicholas Dino.

The Eparchy's territorial jurisdiction consists of thirteen Western States. Churches are presently located in the states of Alaska, Arizona, CaliforniaColoradoNevadaNew MexicoOregon, and Washington. It is a suffragan of the Archeparchy of Pittsburgh. Currently, Holy Protection Eparchy of Phoenix has 19 parishes and one mission under its canonical jurisdiction. Most parishes follow the Ruthenian recension, although the eparchy includes one parish of the Italo-Greek tradition.


The creation of a new eparchy for the western United States was proposed by the metropolitan Council of Hierarchs in 1981. The Congregation for the Oriental Churches a dicastery of the Roman Curia responsible for the Eastern Catholic Churches in communion with the Holy See, recommended the erection of a new eparchy, and it was approved byPope John Paul II.

The Eparchy of Van Nuys was canonically inaugurated on March 9, 1982, when ArchbishopStephen Kocisko, Metropolitan of the Metropolia of Pittsburgh enthroned Thomas Dolinay as the first bishop of the eparchy. Archbishop Pio LaghiApostolic Delegate to the United States, represented the Roman Pontiff and read the Papal Bulla creating the eparchy and appointing Dolinay. Cardinal Timothy ManningArchbishop of Los Angeles delivered the homily. The Church of St. Mary in Sherman Oaks, California, was designated as the cathedral.

In 1990, with the retirement of Archbishop Kocisko of Pittsburgh approaching, Pope John Paul II relieved Dolinay of his duties as Bishop of Van Nuys and appointed him Coadjutor Archbishop of the Byzantine Catholic Archeparchy of Pittsburgh on February 19, 1990.The Pope appointed the Auxiliary Bishop of Passaic, George M. Kuzma, to succeed Bishop Dolinay.

After the Northridge earthquake of 1994 damaged the Cathedral of St. Mary, the eparchial offices, and the bishop's residence, Bishop George moved his office and residence toPhoenix, Arizona. On February 10, 2010, the seat of the diocese was officially changed to Phoenix. Accordingly, the former pro-cathedral of St. Stephen was given the title of Cathedral, and the Cathedral of St. Mary received the title of Proto-Cathedral.


  1. Bishop Thomas Dolinay (1982–1990)
  2. Bishop George Kuzma (1991–2000)
  3. Bishop William C. Skurla (2002–2007)
  4. Bishop Gerald N. Dino (2007–present)

† = deceased


The eparchy has 19 parishes, one mission, 2,505 faithful, 27 priests, and 6 religious men and women.



Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.