Discover the Diocese of Sacramento

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Sacramento is an ecclesiastical territory or particular church of the Roman Catholic Church in the northern California region of the United States. It comprises the counties of SiskiyouModocTrinityShastaLassenTehamaPlumas,GlennButteSierraColusaSutterYubaNevadaYoloPlacerSolanoSacramentoEl Dorado, and Amador, and is headquartered in Sacramento, California. Also known as theSee of Sacramento, it is led by a bishop who pastors the mother church of the diocese, theCathedral of the Blessed Sacrament. Originally a major part of the defunct Grass Valley Diocese (which included several counties in northern California and Nevada), Pope Leo XIIIestablished the present-day diocese on May 28, 1886.

Today, the See of Sacramento remains a ceremonial suffragan of the ecclesiastical province of the Archdiocese of San Francisco. Its fellow suffragans include the Dioceses of Honolulu,Las VegasOaklandRenoSalt Lake CitySan JoseSanta Rosa and Stockton.

The current Bishop of Sacramento is Jaime Soto who was named coadjutor in October 2007 and succeeded Bishop William Weigand on Sunday November 30, 2008. 


Weekly mass count was about 136,500 in 2009. There were an estimated 800,000 Catholics in the area that did not attend mass regularly.


  1. Patrick Manogue (1886 – 1895)
  2. Thomas Grace (1896 – 1921)
  3. Patrick Joseph James Keane (1922 – 1928)
  4. Robert John Armstrong (1929 – 1957)
  5. Joseph Thomas McGucken (1957 – 1962)
  6. Alden John Bell (1962 – 1979)
  7. Francis Anthony Quinn (1979 – 1993)
  8. William Keith Weigand (1993 – 2008)
  9. Jaime Soto (2008 – present)

Auxiliary Bishops

High schools

Closed high schools


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.