Discover the Diocese of Santa Rosa

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Santa Rosa in California (LatinDioecesis Sanctae Rosae in California) is an ecclesiastical territory or diocese of the Roman Catholic Church in the northern California region of the United States, named in honor of St. Rose of Lima. It comprises the Counties of Del NorteHumboldtLakeMendocinoNapa and Sonoma. Also known as the See of Santa Rosa in California, it is led by a bishop, currently Bishop Robert Francis Vasa, who pastors the motherchurch in the City of Santa Rosa, the Cathedral of Saint Eugene. (Bishop Walsh retired on June 30, 2011, and was succeeded by his coadjutor.)

The diocese was established on February 21, 1962 from portions of the Archdiocese of San Francisco and the Diocese of Sacramento.

Today, the See of Santa Rosa in California remains a suffragan of the ecclesiastical province of the Archdiocese of San Francisco. Its fellow suffragan dioceses include the Dioceses of Honolulu, HawaiiLas Vegas, NevadaOakland, CaliforniaReno, Nevada; Sacramento, California; Salt Lake City, UtahSan Jose, California and Stockton, California.

Leadership of the Diocese of Santa Rosa in California

Catholic Hierarchy Data 


  1. Bishop Leo Thomas Maher 1962 - 1969
  2. Bishop Mark Joseph Hurley 1969 - 1986
  3. Bishop John Thomas Steinbock 1987 - 1991
  4. Bishop George Patrick Ziemann 1992 - 1999
  5. Bishop Daniel Francis Walsh 2000 - 2011
  6. Bishop Robert Francis Vasa June 30, 2011 - present

Apostolic Administrator

Coadjutor Bishop



Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.