Discover the Archdiocese of Kansas City

The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Kansas City in Kansas (LatinArchidioecesis Kansanopolitana in Kansas) is an archdiocese of the Latin Rite of the Roman Catholic Church in the United States of America.

The Archdiocese comprises the following twenty-one counties of the US State of Kansas:AndersonAtchisonBrownCoffeyDoniphanDouglasFranklinJacksonJefferson,JohnsonLeavenworthLinnLyonMarshallMiamiNemahaOsagePottawatomie,ShawneeWabaunsee and Wyandotte.

The archbishop's episcopal seat is located at the Cathedral Church of Saint Peter in Kansas City, Kansas.

The Archdiocese has a large and growing population of unregistered Hispanic Catholics.

Currently, over half of all Catholics in the Archdiocese reside in Johnson County, part of the Kansas City Metropolitan Area.


The archdiocese was originally established as the Vicariate Apostolic of Indian Territory East of the Rocky Mountains on July 19, 1850, and composed of the present day states ofKansasNebraskaNorth and South DakotaColoradoWyoming, and Montana. It lost territory and changed its name to the Vicariate Apostolic of Kansas in 1857, and was elevated to the Diocese of Leavenworth on May 22, 1877. It lost further territory in 1887 and 1897. The diocese changed its name to the Diocese of Kansas City in Kansas on May 10, 1947. All of the former dioceses were under the authority of the Archdiocese of Saint Louis.

The current Archdiocese of Kansas City in Kansas was created on August 9, 1952; with three suffragan sees, the dioceses of Dodge CitySalina, and Wichita.

Past and Present Ordinaries

Vicars Apostolic of Indian Territory East of the Rocky Mountains 
Vicars Apostolic of Kansas 
Bishops of Leavenworth, Kansas 
Bishops of Kansas City in Kansas 
Archbishops of Kansas City in Kansas 

As of October 2013:

Seminarians: 35

High schools

* Primary sponsorship comes from Saint Benedict's Abbey and Mount St. Scholastica Monastery.


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.