Discover the Diocese of Houma-Thibodaux

The Diocese of Houma-Thibodaux (official Latin name: Dioecesis Humensis-Thibodensis) is a Roman Catholic diocese in southeastern Louisiana. It comprisesTerrebonne and Lafourche Parishes, the eastern part of St. Mary Parish including Morgan City, and Grand Isle in Jefferson Parish. The diocese was created on June 5, 1977, and was previously part of the Archdiocese of New Orleans.

Although a small diocese in terms of area (around 3,500 square miles), it has a large Roman Catholic population, with approximately 126,000 Catholics out of a total population of 202,000 within the parish boundaries.

On Monday, September 23, 2013, Pope Francis accepted (upon having reached the age limit of 75) the resignation of the Most Rev. Sam G. Jacobs (the Diocese's third Bishop, who had formerly served as Bishop of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Alexandria, Louisiana), and appointed Shelton Fabre, until then an Auxiliary Bishop of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New Orleans, as the fourth Bishop of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Houma-Thibodaux.


High schools


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.