Discover the Diocese of Lafayette

The Diocese of Lafayette in Louisiana is an ecclesiastical division of the Catholic Churchin the United States. The oldest church in the diocese is the parish church of St. Martinville, dating back to 1756. The diocese was created on January 11, 1918 from the western part of the Archdiocese of New Orleans. The size of the diocese was nearly halved by the creation of the Diocese of Lake Charles on January 29, 1980.

Geographic Summary

The diocese consists of four regions containing eight civil parishes:


† = deceased

Bishops who once were priests of the Diocese of Lafayette

The following men began their service as priests in Lafayette before being appointed bishops elsewhere:

High schools


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.