Discover the Diocese of Shreveport

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Shreveport (LatinDioecesis Sreveportuensis in Louisiana) is a Roman Catholic diocese covering the parishes of northern Louisiana, and asuffragan diocese of the Archdiocese of New Orleans. It is under the governance of theUnited States Conference of Catholic Bishops and belongs to Conference Region V (which includes Alabama, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee). Its mother church is the Cathedral of Saint John Berchmans, in Shreveport.

The Diocese of Shreveport was canonically erected on June 16, 1986 when Pope John Paul II split the former diocese of Alexandria–Shreveport into the Diocese of Alexandria and the Diocese of Shreveport. The territory of the diocese covers an area of 28,825 square kilometres (11,129 sq mi). The area's total population in 2004 was 784,665, out of which 39,436 people are Catholic (5 percent of the total population). The diocese is served by 42 diocesan priests in 32 parishes. Currently there are eight seminarians studying for the priesthood in the diocese.


The present bishop of Shreveport, Michael Duca, was appointed on April 1, 2008. He was consecrated on May 19 as the second bishop of the diocese. The Bishop Emeritus isWilliam Benedict Friend, who had retired from the post on December 20, 2006.

The past bishops of the diocese are:

High schools


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.