Discover the Diocese of Grand Rapids

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Grand Rapids (LatinDioecesis Grandcataractensis) is a diocese of the Roman Catholic Church in western Michigan, in the United States. It comprises 102 churches in OttawaKentIoniaMuskegonNewaygoOceanaMontcalm,MecostaLakeMason, and Osceola counties in Michigan. It is a suffragan see to the Archdiocese of Detroit. The motherchurch of the diocese is the Cathedral of Saint Andrew. On April 18, 2013, Pope Francis accepted Bishop Walter A. Hurley's resignation and appointed the Rev. David J. Walkowiak to be the twelfth Bishop of Grand Rapids.


The diocese was created on May 19, 1882 by Pope Leo XIII. Its territory was taken from the Diocese of Detroit. It lost territory in 1938 when the Diocese of Saginaw was established and again on December 19, 1970 when both the Diocese of Gaylord and the Diocese of Kalamazoo were created.


Auxiliary bishops

High schools

The Most Reverend David John Walkowiak, J.C.D.
Twelfth Bishop of the Diocese of Grand Rapids
360 Division Avenue S., Grand Rapids, MI 49503-4501
Phone: 616-475-1250; Fax: 616-243-4910
Ordination Dates:
Priesthood: June 9, 1979
Episcopacy: June 18, 2013
Appointed Bishop of Grand Rapids: April 18, 2013
Installation: June 18, 2013

A bishop offers pastoral care to all those entrusted to his care. By virtue of his consecration and ordination, the bishop of the Diocese of Grand Rapids is the "moderator of the ministry of the word." His governance insures that this ministry is based upon sacred Scripture, tradition, liturgy, the official teaching authority and the life of the Church.

Curriculum Vitae, Bishop David J. Walkowiak


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.