Discover the Diocese of St. Cloud

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Saint Cloud (LatinDioecesis Sancti Clodoaldi) is aRoman Catholic diocese in MinnesotaUnited States. This diocese covers BentonDouglas,GrantIsantiKanabecMille LacsMorrisonOtter TailPopeSherburneStearnsStevens,ToddTraverseWadena, and Wilkin Counties. It is a suffragan see of the Archdiocese of Saint Paul and Minneapolis. The See city for the diocese is Saint Cloud. The cathedral parish is the Cathedral of St. Mary. On September 20, 2013, Pope Francis named Donald Joseph Kettler bishop.


On February 12, 1875 Pope Pius IX established the Vicariate Apostolic of Northern Minnesota. The territory, which had been part of the Diocese of Saint Paul, was evangelized by the missionary priest Father Francis Xavier Pierz. It lost territory when the Diocese of Duluth was established in 1889. On September 22 of the same year the vicariate was elevated by Pope Leo XIII to the Diocese of Saint Cloud.

The patron saint of the Diocese is Clodoald (Saint Cloud), a Merovingian prince who renounced his claims to the throne of the Franks, in favor of religious life. The diocese is named for the City of Saint Cloud, which takes its name from a French city, named forClodoald.



  1. Rupert Seidenbusch (1875–1888, Vicar Apostolic)
  2. John Joseph Frederick Otto Zardetti (1889–1894)
  3. Martin Marty (1895–1896)
  4. James Trobec (1897–1914)
  5. Joseph Francis Busch (1915–1953)
  6. Peter William Bartholome (1953–1968)
  7. George Henry Speltz (1968–1987)
  8. Jerome George HanusO.S.B (1987–1994)
  9. John Francis Kinney (1995—2013)
  10. Donald Joseph Kettler (2013–present)

Auxiliary Bishops

High schools


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.