Discover the Diocese of Jefferson City

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Jefferson City (LatinDioecesis Civitatis Jeffersoniensis) is an ecclesiastical territory or diocese of the Roman Catholic Church in the state of Missouriin the United States, The diocese consists of 38 counties in mainly rural northern and central Missouri, and includes the urban areas of Columbia, and the state capital Jefferson City. TheCathedral of Saint Joseph is located in Jefferson City.


On July 2, 1956 Pope Pius XII established the Diocese of Jefferson City. Its territory was taken from the Archdiocese of St. Louis, the Diocese of Kansas City, and the Diocese of Saint Joseph.

The diocese has 95 parishes, 15 missions, 68 active diocesan priests, 8 religious priests, and 88,000 Catholics. It has 73 Women Religious, 2 Religious Brothers, and 43 permanent deacons.


High schools


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.