Discover the Archdiocese of St. Louis

The Archdiocese of St. Louis (LatinArchidioecesis Sancti Ludovici) is the Roman Catholicarchdiocese that covers the City of St. Louis and the Missouri counties of FranklinJefferson,LincolnPerrySaint CharlesSaint FrancoisSte. GenevieveSt. LouisWarren, andWashington. It is the metropolitan see to the suffragette sees of the Diocese of Springfield-Cape Girardeau, the Diocese of Jefferson City, and the Diocese of Kansas City-St. Joseph.

It is currently led by Robert James Carlson, the former Bishop of Saginaw, who was named the Archbishop-elect on April 21, 2009, by Pope Benedict XVI, and was installed on June 10, 2009. Archbishop Carlson is assisted by Auxiliary Bishop Edward M. Rice and Auxiliary Bishop Emeritus Robert Joseph Hermann. His predecessor was ArchbishopRaymond Burke until Burke's transfer to the position of Prefect of the Supreme Tribunal of the Apostolic Signatura on June 27, 2008. The archdiocesan cathedral is the Cathedral Basilica of St. Louis. The original cathedral and mother church is the Basilica of St. Louis, King of France. The Archdiocese is also one of two in the entire world that has both an Archbishop and a Cardinal, as Raymond Burke's See remains St. Louis, and represents the Archdiocese in the College of Cardinals.


The area's first bishop was Louis William Valentine Dubourg, who on September 24, 1815, was appointed Bishop of Louisiana and the [East and West] Floridas by Pope Pius VII. Unlike his predecessor, who set up his see in New Orleans, DuBourg chose to set up hisepiscopal see in St. Louis. After his resignation and transfer to lead the diocese of Montauban, France, the diocese of Louisiana was split, giving New Orleans a bishop again, and the Diocese of St. Louis was erected on July 18, 1826, by Pope Leo XII. When founded, it included the state of Missouri, the western half of Illinois, and all American territory west of the Mississippi River and north of the state of Louisiana. It was the largest American diocese, equaling in extent all of the other nine dioceses.

Its first bishop, Joseph Rosati, led the Roman Catholic Church's expansion its presence in these areas, and built its first cathedral, now known as the Basilica of St. Louis, King of France.

On July 28, 1837, territory in Iowa, Minnesota, and the Dakotas was taken from the Diocese to form the Diocese of Dubuque, Iowa.

The St. Louis Diocese was elevated to an Archdiocese on July 20, 1847, by Pope Pius IX.

Because of its strong Catholic identity and having been the mother diocese of many dioceses in the midwest, the archdiocese was often referred to as "the Rome of the west". It is dedicated to Saint Louis IX and has as its copatrons Saints Vincent de Paul and Rose Philippine Duchesne.

In January 1999, the archdiocese was host to a two-day visit from Pope John Paul II, the first time a pope had visited the city. It was not John Paul's first visit, since 30 years earlier, he had paid a visit when he was Cardinal Wojty?a, Archbishop of Kraków.

Residential bishops

The following is a list of the bishops and archbishops of St. Louis and their terms of service.


Auxiliary bishops

Further information: List of Saint Louis Archdiocesan Auxiliary Bishops

Eastern Rites

There are two Eastern Rite churches and one Eastern Rite Cathedral within the archdiocese's boundaries:

High schools

†Archdiocesan high schools that are owned and operated by the Archdiocese.


The archdiocese operates 17 cemeteries in the region, including:


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.