Discover the Diocese of Lincoln

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Lincoln (LatinDioecesis Lincolnensis) is a Catholic diocese in NebraskaUnited States, and comprises the majority of the eastern and central portions of the state south of the Platte River. It is a suffragan see to the Archdiocese of Omaha. The episcopal see is in Lincoln, Nebraska. Bishop James D. Conley is the current ordinary of the Diocese. Cathedral of the Risen Christ is the cathedral parish of the diocese.


The diocese was established on August 2, 1887, by Pope Leo XIII from the territory taken from the Diocese of Omaha.

In 1996, bishop Fabian Bruskewitz issued a statement forbidding Catholics in the diocese to join a number of organizations, including the Society of St. Pius XCall to ActionPlanned ParenthoodCatholics for a Free Choice, the Hemlock Society, and various Masonic groups, under pain of excommunication.

Demographics and statistics


The past bishops of the diocese are:

On September 14, 2012, Pope Benedict XVI appointed James D. Conley as Bishop of Lincoln, Nebraska, succeeding Bishop Fabian Bruskewitz. Conley's installation occurred November 20, 2012.

Diocesan priests who have become bishops

High schools


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.