Discover the Diocese of Reno

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Reno is an ecclesiastical territory (or diocese) of theRoman Catholic Church in the northern Nevada region of the United States, centered on the city of Reno. With the urging of Cardinal George MundeleinArchbishop of ChicagoPope Pius XI established the Diocese on March 27, 1931. It was renamed as the Diocese of Reno-Las Vegas by Pope Paul VI, October 13, 1976. On March 21, 1995 Pope John Paul IIchanged it back to the Diocese of Reno while splitting Las Vegas, Nevada into a new diocese.

It comprises the counties of Carson CityChurchillDouglasElkoEurekaHumboldt,LanderLyonMineralPershingStorey and Washoe. The bishop of Reno has his liturgical and canonical seat (cathedra) at The Cathedral of Saint Thomas Aquinas.

The See of Reno is a suffragan diocese of the ecclesiastical province of the Archbishop of San Francisco. Other suffragan sees include the Dioceses of HonoluluLas Vegas,OaklandSacramentoSalt Lake CitySan JoseSanta Rosa and Stockton.

Phillip Francis Straling officially retired on June 21, 2005, but continued to serve as apostolic administrator of the diocese. On December 23, 2005, Pope Benedict XVI appointedRandolph Roque Calvo, of the Archdiocese of San Francisco as the seventh Bishop of Reno. Calvo, born in Agaña, Guam is the first priest from Guam to head the diocese. Calvo was installed and ordained to the episcopate on February 17, 2006, by George Hugh NiederauerArchbishop of San Francisco.

Bishops of Reno


High school

Primary schools



Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.