Discover the Diocese of Metuchen

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Metuchen (LatinDioecesis Metuchenis) is a Roman Catholic diocese in New Jersey, centered in the borough of Metuchen. It was erected on November 19, 1981, from the territory of the Diocese of Trenton.

The Bishop of Metuchen presides from the Saint Francis of Assisi Cathedral in Metuchen.

The diocese encompasses the New Jersey counties of MiddlesexSomersetHunterdonand Warren.

Its coat of arms is blazoned Quarterly, Or and Argent, in dexter chief a tongue of fire Gules; in sinister base the letter "M" Azure, crowned Argent; overall a cross Moline Azure. The cross is taken from the arms of the See of Trenton from which the diocese was formed; the tongue of fire refers both to "metachen," Lenni Lenape for firewood, and the descent of theHoly Spirit; the crowned M refers to the Queenship of the Blessed Virgin Mary, the diocesan patron, founding bishop Theodore McCarrick's arms, and Pope John Paul II's arms. Its four quarters represent the four counties comprising the diocese.

The diocese counts 600,000 Catholics within its purview, distributed across more than one hundred parishes, serviced by 160 priests residing in the diocese, with 100 non-resident priests and 150 deacons assisting. Six hundred religious serve the schools and various organizations throughout the diocese.

In 2006, the twenty-fifth anniversary of the diocese's founding, it began preparations for asynod, the First Synod of the Diocese of Metuchen.

Bishops of the Diocese of Metuchen (terms of service)

  1. Theodore Edgar McCarrick (1981–1986) (appointed auxiliary bishop of New York on May 24, 1977; ordained a bishop on June 29, 1977; appointed founding bishop of Metuchen on November 19, 1981; installed on January 31, 1982; appointedArchbishop of Newark on May 30, 1986; appointed Archbishop of Washington on November 21, 2000; created Cardinal on February 21, 2001; retired on May 16, 2006)
  2. † Edward Thomas Hughes (1986–1997) (appointed auxiliary bishop of Philadelphia on June 14, 1976; ordained a bishop on July 21, 1976; appointed bishop of Metuchen on December 11, 1986; installed on February 5, 1987; retired on July 7, 1997; died on December 25, 2012)
  3. † Vincent DePaul Breen (1997–2002) (appointed bishop in July 1997; ordained a bishop in 1997; resigned in 2002; died on March 30, 2003)
  4. Paul Gregory Bootkoski (2002– ) (appointed auxiliary bishop of Newark on July 8, 1997; ordained a bishop on September 5, 1997; appointed bishop of Metuchen in 2002)

† = deceased

High schools


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.