Discover the Diocese of Newark

The Archdiocese of Newark is an archdiocese of the Catholic Church in northern New Jersey, United States. Its ecclesiastic territory includes all of the Catholic parishes andschools in the New Jersey counties of BergenUnionHudson and Essex (where the city ofNewark is located).


Originally established as the Diocese of Newark in 1853 by Pope Pius IX, it was elevated to Archdiocese in 1937 by Pope Pius XI.

Newark's Saint Mary's Abbey was instrumental in the 1889 founding of Saint Anselm College, a Catholic, Benedictine college in Goffstown, New Hampshire.

The Archbishop of Newark presides from the Cathedral Basilica of the Sacred Heart in Newark.

The Archdiocese is currently led by Archbishop John J. Myers. Myers is metropolitan for all of the New Jersey dioceses, the others of which are the Diocese of Camden, the Diocese of Metuchen, the Diocese of Paterson and the Diocese of Trenton.

On Tuesday, September 24, 2013, Pope Francis appointed Bishop Bernard Hebda, until then the fourth Bishop of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Gaylord, in Gaylord, Michigan, as Coadjutor Archbishop of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Newark, meaning that when Archbishop Myers, 72, retires, resigns, or dies, Archbishop Hebda would immediately succeed him as Archbishop of Newark. Archbishop Myers is nearing retirement age, and has been heavily criticized because of some cases of sexual abuse that occurred while he was in Peoria and then in Newark, though it was not clear whether that was behind the decision.

In February 2014, the New York Times reported Archbishop Myers planned to retire to a 7,500-foot "palace" expanded at his direction in Pittstown, New Jersey

Bishops & Archbishops of Newark (terms of service)

  1. † Bishop James Roosevelt Bayley (1853–1872) (installed Archbishop of Baltimore)
  2. † Bishop Michael Augustine Corrigan (1873–1880) (coadjutor Archbishop of New York)
  3. † Bishop Winand Wigger (1881–1901)
  4. † Bishop John Joseph O'Connor (1901–1927)
  5. † Archbishop Thomas J. Walsh (1928–1952) (Newark raised to archdiocese in 1937)
  6. † Archbishop Thomas Aloysius Boland (1953–1974)
  7. Archbishop Peter Leo Gerety (1974–1986)
  8. Archbishop Theodore Edgar McCarrick (1986–2000) (installed Archbishop of Washington)
  9. Archbishop John J. Myers (2001–present)
  10. Archbishop Bernard Hebda (2013-present) (Coadjutor cum jure successionis)

† = deceased

Auxiliary bishops


As of January 1, 2010, there are four auxiliary bishops:

Retired (auxiliary bishop emeritus)


† = deceased

Schools in the Archdiocese of Newark

Higher education

Secondary schools

Bergen County
Essex County
Hudson County
Union County

Elementary Schools

Bergen County
Essex County
Hudson County
Union County



Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.