Discover the Diocese of Gallup

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Gallup (LatinDioecesis Gallupiensis) is an ecclesiastical territory or diocese of the Roman Catholic Church in the southwestern region of the United States, encompassing counties in the states of Arizona (Navajo and Apache) and New Mexico (San JuanMcKinleyCibolaCatron) and parts of Rio ArribaSandovalBernalillo, and Valencia Counties west of 106,52',41" meridian in New Mexico . The mother churchis the Sacred Heart Cathedral in Gallup, New Mexico.


Pope Pius XI canonically erected the diocese on December 16, 1939, taking its territory from the Archdiocese of Santa Fe, of which Gallup is a suffragan.

On the weekend of August 31-September 1, 2013, a letter from Bishop Wall was read at all Masses stating that the Diocese of Gallup, in order to address the rising number of sexual abuse claims being made, would seek protection under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code. It filed for bankruptcy November 12, 2013.

Bishops of the Diocese of Gallup

The diocese was sede vacante between 2008-2009. Its former bishopDonald Edmond Pelotte, was granted a one year leave of absence on January 3, 2008, to recover from a fall he suffered on July 23, 2007. Thomas J. OlmstedBishop of Phoenix, was appointedapostolic administrator sede plena by Pope Benedict XVI for the duration of Bishop Pelotte's absence. On April 30, 2008 the Pope Benedict XVI accepted the resignation from the pastoral government of the Diocese of Gallup, presented by Bishop Pelotte, in accordance with canon 401 § 2

 of the Code of Canon Law.

High schools


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.