Discover the Diocese of Las Cruces

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Las Cruces (LatinDioecesis Las Cruces) is an ecclesiastical territory or diocese of the Roman Catholic Church in the southwestern region of the United States, comprising the 10 southern counties in the state of New Mexico:HidalgoGrantLunaSierraDoña AnaOteroLincolnChavesEddy, and Lea. It is led by aprelate bishop which serves as pastor of the motherchurchCathedral of the Immaculate Heart of Mary, in the City of Las Cruces. Its congregants are overwhelmingly Hispanic, mostly Mexican in descent. The diocese is a suffragan see of the Archdiocese of Santa Fe.


The See of Las Cruces was canonically erected by Blessed John Paul II on August 17, 1982. Its territory was taken from the Archdiocese of Santa Fe and the Diocese of El Paso.


  1. Ricardo RamirezCSB (1982—2013)
  2. Oscar Cantú (Since 2013)


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.