Discover the Eparchy of St. Maron of Brooklyn

The Eparchy of St. Maron of Brooklyn is the diocese of the Maronite Church for the entire United States.



The diocese has its roots in the establishment of a Maronite Apostolic Exarchate (the equivalent in the Eastern Churches of an Apostolic Vicariate) by Pope Paul VI on 10 January 1966. Its object was to provide a unified structure to serve the Maronite Catholics scattered around the country, who were subject, up to that point, to the local Roman Catholic diocese.

At that time, Pope Paul appointed Francis Mansour Zayek as the first exarch of the Maronites in the United States. The eparchate was based in DetroitMichigan. Zayek, who had just spent several years in a similar post in Brazil, arrived in the United States with a rudimentary knowledge of English, only to find an unfinished cathedral and rectory. He took office on 11 June 1966.

Zayek had to face many challenges. First was the very identity of the Church. Arguments raged as to whether it was to be a transplant of Lebanese life or an American institution rooted in its Lebanese heritage. In this he remained guided by the advice which Pope John had given him on his original appointment, "What you Maronites have does not pertain to you alone but is part of the treasure of the Catholic Church". Additionally, he had to deal with the liturgical changes mandated by the Second Vatican Council, in which he had participated. He had the Maronite Divine Liturgy translated into English for the first time, creating a standardized service for use in every parish of the exarchate.


In the Apostolic Constitution Quod providente, issued on 29 November 1971, Pope Paul VIelevated the exarchate to a full eparchy, or diocese, and appointed Zayek as the first bishop of the Eparchy of St. Maron of Detroit. Zayek was installed as its first bishop on June 4, 1972. The seat of the eparchy was moved from Detroit to the Church of St. Maron in Brooklyn in June 1977 and renamed the Eparchy of St. Maron of Brooklyn.

Zayek retired in 1996, with the personal title of Archbishop, and was succeeded by BishopStephen Youssef Doueihi, who himself retired on 10 January 2004 and was succeeded byGregory J. Mansour.

Current status

As of 2010, the eparchy counts 42 parishes, served by 50 priests and 17 deacons.Parishes are located in the following states:



Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.