Discover the Archdiocese of New York

The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York covers BronxNew York, and Richmondcounties in New York City (coterminous with the boroughs of The BronxManhattan, andStaten Island, respectively), as well as DutchessOrangePutnamRocklandSullivan,Ulster, and Westchester counties in New York state. There are 385 parishes. The Archdiocese of New York is the metropolitan see of the ecclesiastical province of New York which includes the suffragan dioceses of BrooklynAlbanyBuffaloSyracuseRochester,Ogdensburg, and Rockville Centre.

The Latin title of the archdiocese is Archidioecesis Neo-Eboracensis, and the corporate title is Archdiocese of New York.

It publishes a bi-weekly newspaper, Catholic New York.


Initially, the territory that now makes up the Archdiocese of New York was part of the Prefecture Apostolic of United States of America which was established on November 26, 1784. On November 6, 1789, the Prefecture was elevated to a diocese and the present territory of the Archdiocese of New York fell under the jurisdiction of the Diocese of Baltimore, headed by Bishop John Carroll.

At the time, there was a dearth of priests to minister to the large territory. The first Roman Catholic Church in New York City was St. Peter's on Barclay Street. The land was purchased from Trinity Church with financial aid coming from the Spanish consul. The church was built in the federal style. Among its regular worshippers were Saint Elizabeth Seton and Venerable Pierre Toussaint.

On April 8, 1808, the Holy See raised Baltimore to the status of an Archdiocese. At the same time, the dioceses of PhiladelphiaBostonBardstown and New York were created. At the time of its establishment, the Diocese of New York covered all of the state of New York, as well as the New Jersey counties of Sussex, Bergen, Morris, Essex, Somerset, Middlesex, and Monmouth.

Since the first appointed bishop could not set sail from Italy due to the Napoleonic blockade, Fr. Kohlman was appointed administrator. He was instrumental in organizing the diocese and preparing for the Cathedral of St. Patrick to be built on Mulberry Street. Among the difficulties faced by Catholics at the time was anti-Catholic bigotry in general and in the New York school system. A strong Nativist movement sought to keep Catholics out of the country and to prevent those already present from advancing.

On April 23, 1847 territory was taken from the Diocese to form the Dioceses of Albany andBuffalo. The Diocese was elevated to an Archdiocese on July 19, 1850. On July 29, 1853 territory was again taken from the Diocese, this time to form the Diocese of Newark, New Jersey, and the Diocese of Brooklyn. Finally, territory was taken to form the Prefecture Apostolic of Bahama (now the Archdiocese of Nassau) on March 21, 1929.

Archdiocesan demographics

As of 2010 the Catholic population of the Archdiocese was a little over 2.5 million. These Catholics were served by 932 archdiocesan priests and 913 priests of religious orders. Also laboring in the diocese were 359 permanent deacons, 1,493 religious brothers, and 3,153 nuns.

For comparison, in 1929, the Catholic population of the Archdiocese was 1,273,291 persons. There were 1,314 clergy ministering in the archdiocese and 444 churches. There were also 170,348 children in Catholic educational and welfare institutions. New York Times article

In 1959, there were 7,913 nuns and sisters ministering in the Archdiocese, representing 103 different religious orders.

Anniversaries of significance to the archdiocese

Bishops, archbishops, auxiliary bishops, and others

Diocesan bishops

The following is a list of the Roman Catholic bishops and archbishops of New York who have served as the diocesan bishop of New York (and their terms of service):

Bishops of the Diocese of New York (1808–July 19, 1850):

  1. R. Luke Concanen, O.P. † (1808–1810)
  2. John Connolly, O.P. † (1814–1825)
  3. John Dubois, S.S. † (1826–1842)

Archbishops of the Archdiocese of New York:

  1. John Joseph Hughes † (1842–1864)
  2. John Cardinal McCloskey † (1864–1885)
  3. Michael Augustine Corrigan † (1885–1902)
  4. John Murphy Cardinal Farley † (1902–1918)
  5. Patrick Joseph Cardinal Hayes † (1919–1938)
  6. Francis Joseph Cardinal Spellman † (1939–1967)
  7. Terence James Cardinal Cooke † (1968–1983)
  8. John Joseph Cardinal O'Connor † (1984–2000)
  9. Edward Michael Cardinal Egan (2000–2009) (now Archbishop emeritus)
  10. Timothy Michael Cardinal Dolan (2009–present)

† = deceased

Auxiliary bishops



† = deceased

Bishops who once were priests in the Archdiocese of New York



† = deceased


Further information: List of churches in the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York


Further information: List of schools in the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York

Religious orders

Further information: List of religious orders in the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York


The following cemeteries are under the auspices of Calvary & Allied Cemeteries, Inc.:

Many parishes have their own cemeteries, or their own sections in private cemeteries. An incomplete list of those cemeteries follows:

Catholic charitable organizations

Further information: List of charitable organizations in the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York

Saints, blesseds, and venerables of New York

Stages of canonization in the Catholic Church
Servant of God   →   Venerable   →   Blessed   →   Saint

Shrines of New York

See also: List of shrines#United States


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.