Discover the Diocese of Bismarck

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Bismarck (LatinDioecesis Bismarckiensis) is a Roman Catholic diocese in North Dakota. The current bishop of the diocese is Bishop David Kagan. It is a suffragan see of the Archdiocese of Saint Paul and Minneapolis. The See city for the diocese is Bismarck. The Cathedral parish of the diocese is Cathedral of the Holy Spirit.


On December 31, 1909 Saint Pius X established the Diocese of Bismarck. Its territory was taken from the Diocese of Fargo.


Diocesan officers

Diocesan area

The Bismarck diocese covers 23 western North Dakota counties, over 253,000 people, and over 34,000 square miles (88,000 km2). The diocese ministers to approximately 66,400 Catholic church members.

Diocesan offices

The diocese has 17 offices, including:

Diocesan consultative groups

High schools


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.