Discover the Diocese of Puerto Rico

The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of San Juan de Puerto Rico (LatinArchidioecesis Sancti Joannis Portoricensis) is an ecclesiastical territory or diocese of the Roman Catholic Church, comprising the northeast portion of the island of Puerto Rico, a commonwealth of the United States.

The See of San Juan de Puerto Rico was canonically erected on 8 August 1511 as the Diocese of Puerto Rico on the island of San Juan, as it was then called. Due to the switch of names between the island and the capital its name was changed on 21 November 1924 to the Diocese of San Juan in Puerto Rico. With the creation of the Diocese of Arecibo on 30 April 1960, San Juan was raised to the status of an archdiocese, with the new Archbishop leading a metropolitan province comprising all the dioceses on the island as suffragan dioceses.

The Archdiocese of San Juan de Puerto Rico is the metropolitan see for the Caguas,Fajardo–HumacaoPonceMayagüez and the Arecibo.

The current Archbishop is the Most Reverend Roberto González NievesO.F.M.



Auxiliary bishops

High schools


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.