Discover the Diocese of Providence

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Providence (LatinDioecesis Providentiensis) is adiocese of the Roman Catholic Church in the United States. The diocese was erected by Pope Pius IX on February 17, 1872 and originally comprised the entire state of Rhode Islandand the counties of Bristol, Barnstable, Dukes and Nantucket in the state of Massachusetts. On March 12, 1904, those four counties were separated from the Diocese of Providence to form the Diocese of Fall River, Massachusetts, leaving the Diocese of Providence with just the state of Rhode Island. The diocese is suffragan to the Archdiocese of Hartford and a part of the ecclesiastical province that includes that archdiocese and the suffragan dioceses ofBridgeport and Norwich. The Cathedral of SS. Peter and Paul in Providence is the mother church of the diocese of Providence. The Most Reverend Thomas Joseph Tobin, former Bishop of Youngstown, Ohio, is the eighth, and current, Bishop of Providence.


  1. Thomas F. Hendricken (1872 - 1886)
  2. Matthew Harkins (1887 - 1921)
  3. William A. Hickey (1921 - 1933)
  4. Francis Patrick Keough (1934 - 1947)
  5. Russell Joseph McVinney (1948 - 1971)
  6. Louis Edward Gelineau (1972 - 1997)
  7. Robert Edward Mulvee (1997 - 2005)
  8. Thomas Joseph Tobin (2005–present)

Auxiliary Bishops

  1. Thomas Francis Doran (1915-1916)
  2. Denis Matthew Lowney (1917-1918)
  3. Thomas Francis Maloney (1960-1962)
  4. Bernard Matthew Kelly (1964-1971)
  5. Kenneth Anthony Angell (1974-1992)
  6. Robert Joseph McManus (1999-2004)
  7. Robert C. Evans (2009–present)

Affliated Bishops

  1. Francis Xavier Roque


High schools


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.