Discover the Diocese of San Angelo

The Diocese of San Angelo (LatinDioecesis Angeliana) is a Catholic diocese of theRoman Rite covering 29 counties throughout Central and West Texas. It was founded on October 16, 1961. The diocese is a suffragan diocese overseen by the MetropolitanArchdiocese of San Antonio.

On December 12, 2013, Pope Francis named Msgr. Michael J. Sis as the diocese's new bishop, and he was ordained bishop and installed on January 27, 2014.

Encompassing some 37,433 square miles (96,950 km2), the diocese comprises the following 29 counties: AndrewsBrownCallahanCokeColemanConchoCraneCrockett,EctorGlasscockHowardIrionKimbleMartinMcCullochMenardMidlandMitchell,NolanPecosReaganRunnelsSchleicherSterlingSuttonTaylorTerrellTom Green, and Upton.

Major cities located in the diocese are AbileneBig SpringBrownwoodFort Stockton,MidlandOdessaSan Angelo, and Sweetwater.


The diocese's previous bishops are as follows:


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.