Discover the Archdiocese of San Antonio

The Catholic Archdiocese of San Antonio (Roman Rite) encompasses 27,841 square miles (72,110 km2) in the US state of Texas.

The archdiocese includes the city of San Antonio and the following counties: Val Verde,EdwardsKerrGillespieKendallComalGuadalupeGonzalesUvaldeKinneyMedina,BexarWilsonKarnesFrioAtascosa, and the portion of McMullen north of the Nueces River.

On August 28, 1874, the Catholic Diocese of Galveston was divided and the northern territory was canonically erected by the Holy See as the diocese of San Antonio. Originally part of the Ecclesiastical Province of New Orleans, it was subsequently elevated on August 3, 1926, to a metropolitan archdiocese.

The archbishop of San Antonio also serves as the Metropolitan of the ecclesiastical province of San Antonio with the Archdiocese of San Antonio overseeing the following suffragandioceses: AmarilloDallasEl PasoFort WorthLaredoLubbock, and San Angelo. All of Texas' dioceses had been suffragan sees under San Antonio until December 2004 whenPope John Paul II created the new Ecclesiastical Province of Galveston-Houston and elevated the Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston to a Metropolitan See.

History of diocese

The Archdiocese of San Antonio was erected as a diocese on August 28, 1874, under the then Diocese of Galveston. It was elevated to an archdiocese on August 3, 1926. As of 2010, it has 139 parishes, 34 missions and two pastoral centers.

With the appointment of Archbishop José Horacio Gómez as the Coadjutor Archbishop of Los Angeles, its cathedral was considered sede vacante until October 14, 2010.

On October 14, 2010, Pope Benedict XVI appointed Gustavo Garcia-Siller as archbishop of the Archdiocese of San Antonio.


Diocese of San Antonio

Archdiocese of San Antonio

Auxiliary Bishops


High schools





Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.