Discover the Diocese of Tyler

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Tyler (LatinDioecesis Tylerensis) is a Roman Catholicdiocese in Texas. It was founded on December 12, 1986, and erected on February 24, 1987.

On September 29, 2012, it was announced by the diocese's website, and by the Holy See - on the Vatican's Holy See Press Office Vatican Information Service (VIS) site – that Monsignor Joseph E. Strickland had been appointed by Pope Benedict XVI to serve as the fourth bishop of the Roman Catholic diocese of Tyler.

Bishop Strickland was ordained and installed on November 28, 2012, by Daniel Cardinal DiNardo, archbishop of Galveston-Houston, the metropolitan see of the province which includes the Diocese of Tyler. The principal co-consecrators were Bishop Álvaro Corrada del RioS.J., bishop of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Mayaguez (based in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico), who was bishop-elect Strickland's predecessor as bishop of Tyler; and ArchbishopMichael J. Sheehan of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Santa Fe (based in Santa Fe, New Mexico).

Strickland was Corrada's delegate when Corrada was serving as Apostolic Administratorduring the sede vacante (vacant see) period.

The parishes of the diocese are grouped into six deaneries for administrative purposes: Northwest, West Central, Southwest, Northeast, Southeast, East Central.

Diocesan Offices

Former Ordinaries

Past bishops of the diocese, in order of their terms of service, were:

  1. Charles Edwin Herzig (1986–1991)
  2. Edmond Carmody (1992–2000)
  3. Álvaro Corrada del Río (2000–2011)

High Schools



Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.