Discover the Diocese of St. Thomas

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Saint Thomas (LatinDioecesis Sancti Thomae in Insulis Virgineis) is a diocese of the Latin Rite of the Roman Catholic Church in theCaribbean. The diocese comprises the overseas dependency of the Virgin Islandsspecifically the islands Saint ThomasSaint Croix and Saint John. The diocese is a suffragan of the Archdiocese of Washington. Bishops of Saint Thomas are members of theUnited States Conference of Catholic Bishops and also enjoy observer status with theAntilles Episcopal Conference.

The Diocese of Saint Thomas was erected as the Territorial Prelature of the Virgin Islands on April 30, 1960. Its name was changed and was elevated to a diocese on April 20, 1977. It is the only suffragan see of the Archdiocese of Washington. The diocese is governed fromCharlotte Amalie on the island of Saint Thomas by a bishop whose episcopal seat is theCathedral of Saints Peter and Paul. The current Bishop of Saint Thomas is Herbert A. Bevard, who was appointed on July 7, 2008, and was ordained and installed on September 3.


High schools


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.