Discover the Diocese of Superior

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Superior (LatinDioecesis Superiorensis) encompasses the city of Superior and the counties of AshlandBarronBayfieldBurnettDouglasIron,LincolnOneidaPricePolkRuskSawyerSt. CroixTaylorVilas, and Washburn in northern Wisconsin, with an area of 15,715 square miles (40,700 km2). Its episcopal see is Superior, and the Cathedral of Christ the King in Superior is its mother church.


The diocese was established on May 3, 1905 by Pope Pius X. It was created from the northern part of the Diocese of La Crosse and the northwestern part of the Diocese of Green Bay, with Augustine Francis Schinner as the first bishop. It is a suffragan diocese of theArchdiocese of Milwaukee.


The following is a list of the Roman Catholic Bishops of the Diocese of Superior and their terms of service:


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.