Discover the Diocese of Tulsa

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Tulsa (LatinDioecesis Tulsensis) is a particular church of the Latin Rite of the Roman Catholic Church in the eastern region of the U.S. state ofOklahoma. Its ecclesiastical territory includes all of 31 counties in eastern Oklahoma, including the most populous county of the group, Tulsa County. Currently, the Most Reverend Edward James Slattery is Bishop of the diocese.


Before the diocese was founded, it was part of the (former) Diocese of Oklahoma City (which was founded in 1905) and had its roots through French Benedictine monks who enteredIndian Territory in 1875 to establish a Catholic presence.

The Diocese of Tulsa was founded on December 13, 1972, following the division of the former Diocese of Oklahoma City-Tulsa. At present, there are a total of 78 parishes(including mission churches) in the 26,417 square miles (68,420 km2) of the diocese. The official news and information publication of the diocese is the Eastern Oklahoma Catholic.

Diocesan bishops

See also: Bishop (Catholic Church)
  1. † Bernard J. Ganter (1972–1977); appointed bishop of Beaumont (Tex.) on December 13, 1977; retired in 1994; died on October 9, 1993
  2. Eusebius Joseph Beltran (1978–1992); appointed archbishop of Oklahoma City on November 24, 1992; installed on January 22, 1993; retired on December 16, 2010
  3. Edward James Slattery (1993—)

† = deceased


Main article: Holy Family Cathedral in Tulsa

Liturgical institute


Main article: Eastern Oklahoma Catholic


The superintendent of the diocese is Todd Goldsmith.

High schools


Our Sponsors

This site is sponsored by Mendicant Marketing, a Catholic company specializing in Internet Marketing: Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media Marketing, and more.